Daily Archives: April 27, 2005

Halmoni and me


P1110034
Originally uploaded by sarahhyunah.

Thought I’d start posting photos with a particularly great one . . . this was taken during my first visit with my grandmother (in Korean, “Halmoni”) in January 2005. Next month, this phenomenal woman turns 80-years-old. I’ve decided to give her a framed print of this photo as a gift. Somehow, she managed to raise seven children mostly on her own (my grandfather died over 45 years ago). Every time I see her, she always holds my hand and kisses me on the head while speaking to me in a long stream of Korean. She knows I don’t understand, but this doesn’t stop her. The basic gist is what matters–that she is happy to see me, she misses my mother, she worries about my health. I love her very much.

3 Comments

Filed under Updates