Halmoni and me


P1110034
Originally uploaded by sarahhyunah.

Thought I’d start posting photos with a particularly great one . . . this was taken during my first visit with my grandmother (in Korean, “Halmoni”) in January 2005. Next month, this phenomenal woman turns 80-years-old. I’ve decided to give her a framed print of this photo as a gift. Somehow, she managed to raise seven children mostly on her own (my grandfather died over 45 years ago). Every time I see her, she always holds my hand and kisses me on the head while speaking to me in a long stream of Korean. She knows I don’t understand, but this doesn’t stop her. The basic gist is what matters–that she is happy to see me, she misses my mother, she worries about my health. I love her very much.

3 Comments

Filed under Updates

3 responses to “Halmoni and me

  1. Beautiful picture of you with your Halmoni. I am finally able to see your blog from here in…

    HONG KONG! In less than 24 hours you will be here. PARTY TIME!!!

  2. don't delete this comment...

    you’re hot… you can tell a lot by what a girl will look like when she gets older by looking at her halmoni… hahaha…

  3. That’s really sweet what you wrote about your Halmoni.

Leave a Reply

