My “Fifth” Aunt


Halmoni’s Birthday
Originally uploaded by sarahhyunah.

When I was born, Fifth Aunt was living next door to my parents. She remembers bathing me and helping to take care of me for the few months I spent with my mother. She was strongly opposed to giving me away for adoption, although my father saw to it that it happened. When I saw her on Saturday, she was very happy to see me and said that my face is the same as when I was a baby. There’s many things I know she wants to tell me, but it’s frustrating b/c my Korean is so, so limited. Through my cousin, we talked about how my birthday (October 21) may actually be the lunar date, because she remembers that it was a very cold day when I was born.

1 Comment

Filed under Updates

One response to “My “Fifth” Aunt

  1. melon bar

    sar,

    great pics… family is such a phenomenal thing. it’s so neat (for lack of better words) that we get to see this part of your life…

    love ya!
    melon bar maniac

Leave a Reply

