See you again soon!


Heidi’s Party
Originally uploaded by sarahhyunah.

H. left this morning to return to Minnesota for two months before beginning a second year in Korea. She’s been a really great friend this year, and I’m going to miss her while she’s gone, although it’s nice to know we can hang out for about a month later this summer.

In this picture, H. is sitting with H.K., an employee at KoRoot who also accompanied me on my first visit to my uncle’s house in Suji this year. She’s going to be leaving KoRoot soon to focus more on her Ph.D. studies, so I’m going to miss seeing her regularly, too! Such a smart, warm, nurturing woman.

People are constantly coming and going here in Korea, and this month has been filled with good-byes and farewells. We’ve had three people leave JEL this month, one of whom was my roommate. It sounds like an oxymoron, but I often feel like my life here is in a perpetual state of transition. I keep wondering what it’s going to be like when I leave this fall. I know that I plan on returning next summer, so I’ll really only be in the States for about nine months. But still, it will be an emotional time, because so much has happened this year, and moving across the Pacific is a little different than just moving across a few states. Enough obsessing about the future! I’m going to try to enjoy the rest of my time here for what it is . . . . Summer is in swing–it’s warm, but the unbearable heat has yet to strike, thank goodness.

1 Comment

Filed under Updates

One response to “See you again soon!

  1. i'm going through melon bar withdrawal!

    hey! great pics. thanks so much for doing that! how are you getting on? write me when you can…

    love ya

Leave a Reply

