K. & S. in Korea!


O’Sulloc’s Green Tea House
Originally uploaded by sarahhyunah.

So it’s been a long time since my last post, but it’s because I’ve been busy having a great time with my two good friends, K. & S., who recently came to visit me! I was wondering if it would be weird having them here in Korea (worlds colliding and all that), but it seemed really natural. They’ve been great friends to me over the last few years, and we’ve shared a lot of hilarious (mis)adventures. We added a fresh batch of good memories to the pot during this last trip. (I always knew my life would never be the same after that fateful Air Tran flight from Baltimore to Boston three years ago . . .)

After journaling about their week here, I realized just how often I got lost or turned around while they were here. It all began with a wild trip to pick up S. at the airport late on Wednesday. Anyway, it makes for a funny story now.

K. and I spent a few idyllic days down in Gyeongju, the old capital of the Silla dynasty. Then we spent the rest of the week with S. in Seoul and Sanbon. It’s always interesting to have friends or family visit you in your recently-established home in a different city, because it forces you to evaluate your own life through their eyes. I was reminded of how lucky I’ve been this year to have this experience, to meet the friends I have in Seoul, to discover my Korean family–and I was also reminded of how lucky I am to have good friends in the States, too. Friends willing to make their first ever trip to Asia be Korea!

1 Comment

Filed under Updates

One response to “K. & S. in Korea!

  1. It’s definitely an awesome experience… I must make it a point to get there (Korea) sometime soon!–>

Leave a Reply

