Welcome Home

I finally arrived in Seattle tonight (33+ hours of driving later)! It doesn’t feel like I’m really here, though, because I’m staying in a hotel down by the Sea-Tac Airport with my mom. We managed to find a decent Thai restaurant, however, which was a nice relief from the Perkins and Denny’s we were subjected to throughout Montana.

Upon arriving in Washington, I had my first “incident” since being back in the States, and I’m surprised it took this long. While paying at a gas station in Spokane, the cashier asked me, “Do you speak Japanese?” Since the only other words we’d exchanged prior to this question were “Do you have any magazines?” and “No,” I didn’t take his query too well. I responded, “I’m NOT Japanese!” rather shrilly and hurried out of there. If it’s not things like this, it’s taxi drivers in Seoul demanding to know why I don’t speak Korean.

Sorry, just needed to vent. I am glad to be back in Seattle, regardless!

2 Comments

Filed under Updates

2 responses to “Welcome Home

  1. Ignorance is annoying.

    Now that you’re home, take it easy and relax a little!

  2. I had a guy at work ask me if he was speaking the Hmong language correctly. Welcome back, Sarah!

Leave a Reply

