Birthday


Birthday
Originally uploaded by sarahhyunah.

So I had a nice birthday last Friday with an interesting mix of people . . . people from Holt Camp and adoptee events, people that I worked with at JEL in Korea, a former AmeriCorps teammate, a former roommate, current Evans School classmates. It was an eclectic mix. But it was a great way to celebrate, and after the delish Thai meal, some of us went to a lounge to have a few drinks and watch a b-boy (& girl) dance-off. The girl won–represent! So all in all, a nice b-day, and an overall relaxing weekend. I got very little accomplished as far as school-work goes, but sometimes you gotta take a break.

I’ve found that I’ve been able to approach grad school with a much more balanced and healthier attitude than I had in undergrad. Meaning, I get at least 7-8 hours of sleep each night, I take time to have fun during the week & weekends, and I don’t obsess to the point of making myself sick. Let’s hope this means I can still pass! I think it should be all good, though. Although I was reminded yesterday of why I should try to study outside of the house. It was 7:00 p.m. on Sunday, and I still had yet to crack open a book, due to talking on the phone and downloading songs from iTunes (sooooo addicting).

Even though I still haven’t had a chance to unpack everything (still! still!), I did get to journal this weekend and also sort through my pictures on my computer. Combined with being more engaged at school, I’m really starting to feel totally present here in Seattle, body & mind. Although I still find myself wishing this city didn’t fold in on itself at 1:00 a.m.

Leave a comment

Filed under Updates

Leave a Reply

