To blog or not to blog

I realize that I’ve been going a bit longer between posts . . . and I think it’s because my life has been so utterly consumed with school. Well, actually I know that’s the reason. And the fact that I continue to read friends’ blogs that sound so much more exotic and exciting (traveling to locales such as Angkor Wat, Beijing, Switzerland) makes my current state of affairs seem that much more akin to watching paint dry.

But anyway, even though I have no exciting pictures to show or wild stories to tell, here’s what’s going on with me at the moment:

I’m almost done with this quarter! It’s amazing how deeply embedded I’ve become in school life once again. The thought of getting a job off-campus sounds like a near-impossible feat. I’m already having to register for the next quarter this week. I’m also contemplating getting a 2nd–that’s right folks, a 2nd–master’s degree. There’s a concurrent degree program that the Jackson School of International Studies conducts with the Evans M.P.A.–I’d also be getting an M.A. in international studies. This would allow me to take some Korean studies courses and also get a 2nd affirmation of my willingness to go into large amounts of debt.

As a consequence of all this school, school, school, my lovelife (or lack thereof) has shriveled up into a miniscule ball of nothing. I don’t normally blog about this part of my life, but I figure since absolutely nothing is going on right now, there’s no harm. NYC was an aberration, but upon returning to the States, the most excitement I’ve had was getting hit on by a classmate with a gigantic frame (think football linebacker, over 6 feet tall–I had to crane my neck to see his face) and a predilection for Filipino women (although when I informed him that I am not Filipino, this did not dissuade him). I don’t think school is going to be a breeding ground for romance.

4 Comments

Filed under Updates

4 responses to “To blog or not to blog

  1. Amy

    Keep writing. I need something to do now that I’m in Jersey (shudder) and you know, unemployed.

  2. Make sure you come up for air every once in a while, and take care!

  3. Kat

    It’s been far too long, lady! I hope you had a great birthday.

    Life in KC ain’t exactly a thrill a minute, but I’m still giving it a go on blogging. So surely you can, too. If need be, resort to relaying life stories, a la http://www.masthead.blogspot.com. He’s hysterical!

    Think you’ll be in town next May?!

  4. Hey Sarah!

    Sounds like you had a great weekend!

    Please keep writing, it makes me feel a little closer to you.
    So happy to read all has been going well (though very hectic too), what an exciting new life after your year in Korea!

    So here I am with a little less than a month to go before I’m flying back to Seoul – and counting! Gosh, never thought I’d say that ;o)

    I will definitely miss having you there!

    Good luck with your studies and (very) belated birthday wishes!

    Much love, Heej–>

Leave a Reply

