Maybe I met my soulmate when I was 5.

Growing Up

I’m just being facetious. But this photograph cracks me up. When I went home for Christmas, Mom gave me a photo CD with some scanned pictures from my childhood (up now on my Flickr site). This was one of them.

Here I am with Russ, a.k.a. my kindergarten “boyfriend” and then-best-friend. We were inseparable, as we’d grown up going to pre-school together, and our mothers were friends who both taught at the school. I remember being excited to be the big kids that year in the Christmas pageant. And we were cast as Joseph and Mary–oh yeah! I was the Blessed Virgin. Top billing–that’s even better than playing Maria in “West Side Story,” for sure. Too bad I’m missing some teeth in this picture.

Russ and I had great times together. He used to come over to my house, and we would hide when his mother would come to pick him up. I really wanted siblings growing up, and he was the closest thing I had. Such a gentleman, too, because he once gave me a bouquet of dandelions to apologize after we argued once. These are things a woman never forgets. After kindergarten, my family moved out to the boonies, and I only saw Russ one other time when we were awkward 12-year-olds and too cool to talk to one another.

Another reason I’m posting this picture is that I ended up Google-ing Russ the other day just for the hell of it. And through a bunch of links, I somehow found him on My Space! So I messaged him, asking him some specific questions, and he answered correctly and identified himself as my long-lost kindergarten boyfriend. He’s since become a successful actor, working in various play productions around Kansas City (after a stint in Chicago).

So, I guess the moral of the story is that My Space is addictive. Just kidding. It’s always nice to catch up with people from your past. Especially when now, the people of the opposite sex I’m presently meeting haven’t done anything as impressive as gracing me with a bouquet of dandelions they picked themselves.

By the way, I’m loving the feedback from the last post! I love getting comments, and I’m trying to comment more on people’s blogs that I frequent (Kat–I read you every day and must comment soon). I miss seeing you all face-to-face! (P.S.–Joe–Ah, c’mon, what’s wrong with Kanye and basketball??? And J. Gabriel–You can still bookmark me even though I’m not a Rice Bowl Journal!)

7 Comments

Filed under Updates

7 responses to “Maybe I met my soulmate when I was 5.

  1. Somewhere in the back of my mind, I knew on first glance that you were Joseph and Mary, but for some reason, my first instinct was, “Hey, Obi-Wan Kenobi and Fraulein Maria!”

    😀

  2. I fell out of my chair laughing at that picture. Myspace is truly addictive.

  3. Ji-in–OMG, you’re right!!!!

    Sam–I miss you!

    Fishlamp–Glad to hear 2006 is going swell thus far!

  4. Tess

    I had a boyfriend in first grade but his name wasn’t Russ, it was James. i actually found him by accident through the Uw a while ago and we actually hung out.

  5. Anonymous

    Should I know Russ? I only remember one Russ, and I don’t think that’s him. Anyway, that’s a really cute picture, and I’m glad you were able to find him. You’re one of the only people I know who would take the time to do that. Makes me wonder where Stephen J. is these days.

    So he’s in KC, huh? Single? Just kidding–I’ll keep waiting for Bryce. : ) -L

  6. Hi Sarah,

    I found your site via Ji-in, and I thought I would just say hello. I’m a fellow KAD, born in Seoul 1970 and adopted at 11 months. I love the cute picture here!

    Cheers,

    Lee

Leave a Reply

