I’m tagging myself . . . and you, too

If you’re reading this, consider yourself tagged. (Given that you have an iPod) If you don’t want to post on your own blog, or if you don’t have one, just leave a comment. [Come on, to all of my blog-shy friends who read this and don’t leave comments. I know who you are! Just click “anonymous” and leave your initial in the body of the comment.]

Top 5 Most-Played Songs on My iPod
1. “10 Dollar” (M.I.A.)–Ok, at least my #1 isn’t embarassing. If you don’t know who M.I.A. is, she’s fantastic. Although how I discovered M.I.A. is embarassing. I’ll tell you sometime if you really want to know.
2. “We Belong Together” (Mariah Carey)–Oh, stop. It’s a great song! Really, it is!
3. “Grindin'” (Clipse)–This is an oldie, but a goodie.
4. “Let Me Love You” (Mario)–Yet another song that further distances me from any hope of ever claiming any “indie hip-hop” or “hipster” street cred.
5. “Drop It Like It’s Hot” (Snoop Dogg & Pharrell)–Yikes. This one obliterates my feminist street cred as well. Snooooooop.

I’m not sure what this says about me other than that the four hours I spent yesterday uploading new songs onto my iPod was well worth it. It’s really a very time-consuming process, and I still haven’t reached 1,000 songs (I’ve got to at least get to a point where splurging for the 20GB was worth it . . .). What can I say, I’m not a music snob. Never have been, never will be. At least I have friends who can enlighten me. What’s sad, though, is that these top 5 songs aren’t even close to what I’d say are my favorites on my iPod (I love walking across campus, listening to Bao Phi rant & rave). Seriously, if I was to construct “Sarah Kim’s Playlist” on iTunes, none of my Top 5 Most-Played would be on there (well, except “10Dollar”). Perhaps my subconscious is hopelessly uncool, while my conscious self only just now remembered to put Blue Scholars on there (and I still have not managed to snag The Long March . . . .)

7 Comments

Filed under Updates

7 responses to “I’m tagging myself . . . and you, too

  1. Anonymous

    hey! This isn’t completely accurate and is a bit sunnier than the usual depressing music I listen to, but it has been staying light past 3pm recently…

    1) Another Sunny Day (Belle and Sebastian)
    2) I believe in the good of life (The Hidden Cameras)
    3) Bird on a Wire (Rogue Wave)/or Ruby (Apples in Stereo)
    4) Whatever happened to soy bomb (the Eels)
    5) Medicine (Sons and Daughters)
    -k

  2. well… according to my last.fm page the follwoing top 5 tracks would be as follows:

    5. styrofoam – i found love
    4. joseph arthur – there is a light that never goes out
    3. handsome boy modeling school – breakdown
    2. ray lamontange – shelter
    1. petra haden/bill frisell – yellow

  3. sarah, you’re really funny. just wanted to reiterate that.

    hmmm…
    today in particular, i listened a lot to:
    1. “Here’s who I am”, song from the movie CAMP
    2. “Self esteem rant”, from margaret cho’s notorious tour
    3. “Cold Out There” by Jon Hopkins
    4. “Seasons of Love (Eddie Baez’s payin the rent club mix)
    5. “pitseleh” by elliott smith

    so i guess that means i like soundtracks, stand up comedy, meditative music, techno and indie.

  4. Tess

    I have my top 5 most played songs on my blog along with my top 5 artists….

  5. This sounds fun. Going to post mine today…have a good one, Sarah!

  6. 11 days without blogging and I’m so behind on my sarahkim-ness. I’ll post my tag response on my page. Oh, and post-script: It was wonderful news to hear that you and your parents have reached that point of mutual respect and love. It’s one of the great gifts.

  7. Thanks for participating, everyone! I readily confess to having no clue as to who most of your artists are! (Save for the divine Ms. Cho.)

Leave a Reply

