These parents today . . .

(I’ve responded to comments on yesterday’s post within the comment section of said post. Welcome to everyone who finds me via TTR! You are such a pimp, Ji-in! 😀 )

This morning, I went down to the Wing Luke Asian Museum to watch my friend, R.B., give a tour to a group of local high school students. I’m finally making time this quarter to be a museum docent, which I’m stoked about. R.B. is the Education Coordinator at the museum, and I was very impressed with his professionalism and encylopedic knowledge of all of the exhibits. (Definitely impressive given that all of my previous experiences with R.B. involved seeing him at parties/clubs wearing a goofy grin on his face and unsuccessfully trying to dance with women.)

The kids were only about half-zoned-out, and they ended up asking some fairly interesting questions at the end (mostly about the Japanese internment exhibit and the gallery featuring the local Sikh community). I was going to stay to watch the elementary school group tour immediately after, but I had to cut it short in order to get to campus. Little kids make me smile, what with their inappropriate questions and wiggly bodies. They were like puppies at the museum, sniffing around and inspecting everything.

I asked R.B. whether he prefers older students or younger students. Basically, who asks the most offensive questions? R.B. surprised me and said it’s always the chaperone parents who make the dumbest comments. Like one Mercer Island (Seattle’s version of the O.C.) mom asked,

How can you tell Chinese and Japanese people apart when you look at them?

Oh lord, what have I gotten myself into? Maybe we could just tell all the parents to stay in the lobby.

Another interesting part of this morning–the very nice gentleman working at the museum’s front desk was a black man who had been adopted by a Chinese family. He’s been working at the museum for the past ten years or so.

Anyway, stupid parents or not, I’m glad that I’m finally stepping up my involvement with WLAM. Just in time for APA Heritage Month (May)!

7 Comments

Filed under Updates

7 responses to “These parents today . . .

  1. If I am a pimp, does that make you my ho?

    Work it! Work it, girl!

  2. KAB (Korean Adoptee Bride)–for some reason, Blogger isn’t publishing your comment. Here it is:

    yup, i know liz–she was on my program, and i ran into her and her (at the time) fiance at an adoptee book release at tufts. what were you doing in boston when you lived here?

    ~I met Liz when I was living in Boston (Dorchester), 2002-2003. I was volunteering for AmeriCorps, so I taught ESL to adult immigrants at the Notre Dame Education Center in South Boston (directly across from the Broadway T stop). Just curious, did you see Liz at Tufts when “Somebody’s Daughter” came out?

  3. Here’s what I’d say to those clueless parents: If you see a guy with a red star on his hat, a Chairman Mao suit, and a red book in his hand, he’s Chinese.

    Anything else, and it’s hard to tell.

  4. Ji-in–I’ll be your ho, as long as I can be Ho#1. Now we just need to get you some grillz and a loud suit.

  5. hey stranger…that sounds like an interesting man at the museum’s front desk. now that is a biodynamic identity right there for ya.

  6. nope, i saw her when a compliations of essays came out, forget what it’s called. . .way before somebody’s daughter. . .she was only “engaged” then. how’d you like southie?

Leave a Reply

