Busy, busy, busy

Sorry for the delay in updating. It’s not for lack of material…..on the contrary, everything seems to be happening at once now, which is why I’ve been distracted. I came back from Stockholm very energized about the near future, but then I had to face the cold reality of the work that must be accomplished in the next 3 1/2 weeks before the end of spring quarter at school. Auuggghhh!

But hey–

**Good and exciting news!!!! I wanted to post this immediately last week, but couldn’t find time. I found out on Wednesday that I’m receiving a fellowship from my school that will help fund my internship with G.O.A.’L this summer. Yay!!!!! I was so happy when I found out that I spontaneously hugged the unsuspecting souls who happened to be standing next to me at the time in the Evans student lounge. It feels so gratifying, because it’s like the school is recognizing that the work that I care so passionately about really means something, that it’s worthwhile.

In other news, I went to a concert on Friday night in order to see Blue Scholars and Mos Def, and in the process had to endure two agonizing sets from Carlos Mencia. I don’t feel like re-hashing what a f*cking moron this man is, but suffice it to say, it was utterly painful–especially since my two classmates that I went with found him enjoyable. Their defense was, “Well, he makes fun of everyone.” Well, I think he needs to find some new f*cking material other than the same tired, old shit: Asians are smart, Asian men have small dicks, Asians are bad drivers. We should racially profile people who “look” Muslim, because, well, America is like a fraternity/sorority, and this is their “hazing.” (Just like Japanese-Americans went through their “hazing” with internment.) What a crock of bullshit. The sad thing is that his rhetoric could basically be coming from a white dude at Fox News. And the sea of clueless undergrads at the UW was applauding enthusiastically. The only saving grace was that when Blue Scholars came on, they promptly dissed Mencia for being an idiot not once, but two times during their set. Ah, my love for them only continues to grow….

Looking forward to hosting Soon-young (a.k.a. “K.”) and N. this week! My other friend, K.S. will be arriving on Thursday, too, so it will be a full house. The mini-gathering is going to be a lot of work, but soooooo much fun and sooooo worth it.

Stockholm and the mini-g, combined with the good news about my fellowship, have given me a big-picture perspective that is helping me get through the stress that currently weighs on my shoulders. I find myself not as concerned about the minutiae of school, because I know that I’m working towards something bigger.

Consequently, though, it’s hard to focus now in school. I feel like I’m already emotionally finished with this quarter. Well, time just has a few weeks to catch up with me.

Any advice on how you would’ve handled the situation above with hating Mencia but being there with friends/classmates who love him??

11 Comments

Filed under Updates

11 responses to “Busy, busy, busy

  1. Congratulations on the fellowship, that is awesome news!

  2. You could have played the Inscrutable Asian game: sit there observing actively, without emoting, giving ambiguous, non-commital facial expressions of neutrality only when prompted. Say nothing. Yet. I’ve found that appearing to be at a loss for words saves many a friendship (quoth Hobbes).

    Congratulations on all your recent successes, including survival of two Mencia sets. Our summers are going to be sick. I demand updates from the other side of Asia (pretty please).

  3. Sam

    Congrats Sarah Kim on the Fellowship. thats awesome. Sounds like a busy but fun time. I will have to agree with you about Carlos Mencia. That idiot is quite annoying!!!

  4. Congratulations on the extra attention you deserve!

    Mencia is an a**hole on par with Adam Carrola. For some reason he enjoys saying “beaner” on his TV show – never underestimate the power of self-hate.

  5. Congrats!!!
    And have fun at the adoptee meetup! Wish I could be there!

  6. i’ve never heard of mencia, but he sounds like an ass. i will have to check out the blue scholars.

    congratulations on your fellowship, sarah. they’re lucky to have you.

  7. MENCIA CAN KISS MY YELLOW ASS! booooooo… but gotta love the blue scholars 🙂 i credit them to meeting r 😛 but anyway, i’m disappointed in mos. not that you didn’t know this already.

    congrats on your fellowship, sarah김!

  8. A few years ago MTV had a half hour comedy show which had 3 stand up comedians. There was one white guy who had a decent act but then started in on the bad Asian driver thing and kept repeating the word “rip-rash” for whiplash. Not fucking funny. And then Margaret Cho came on. I believe the first thing out of her mouth was “I’m Margaret Cho. And yes I can drive”. How and why the stage managers could have put those two back to back infuriates me.

    If it were me during the Mencia thing, I would have stood up and shouted “get off the stage f&ck face, you’re not funny”. But then again, getting kicked out of a club ruins the night for everybody.

    PS Congradulations about the fellowship.

  9. Gar

    I would just write the following mathematical equation for your Mencia loving friends:

    Dave Chappelle > Mencia

    Have fun being “tour guide” for your out of town visitors… be sure to take them to all the usual spots: Space Needle, Pike Place Farmer’s Market, First Starbucks, Bruce Lee’s grave, Snoqualmie Falls, etc. 😉

  10. Wow, that is awesome Sarah, congratulations on the fellowship!!!

    I agree with the rest of you regarding Mencia.

    Mencia = not cool and then some

  11. kya

    i’m having so much fun in seattle! can’t wait to put on the fasian lashes. FUN FUN! and wine to kick off the cruise!!!! woot woot woot!

Leave a Reply

