Peace OUT

The day finally came–last Friday was the Evans School Convocation….I am officially, done, and I mean DONE DONE with the Evans School and with my M.P.A. (Master of Public Administration) degree!!!!

🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

The last few weeks have been a blur….. It still hasn’t fully sunk in yet that I’m finished with everything (including my Degree Project [a.k.a. thesis]!). Realization will come later.

Tonight, I am leaving for Washington D.C. on a red-eye. I have an awesome opportunity to lobby some Congressmen against the Korea-US Free Trade Agreement. (Thanks to my fellow group members at Sahngnoksoo, a Seattle group of progressive Koreans and Korean Americans, who not only informed me of the opportunity, but also set me up with other people on the East Coast who are sponsoring my flight and will provide invaluable guidance while I’m there.) Some of the people I will be working with are experienced lobbyists from Korean Americans Against War and Neoliberalism (KAWAN), Korean Americans for Fair Trade (KAFT), and the Korean Alliance Against the Korea-U.S. FTA (KoA). I admit to feeling nervous and out of my depth….. But since no one else from Sahngnoksoo was available to go, I was allowed the opportunity to gain some great lobbying experience as well as educate myself more about the KORUS-FTA issues…..

So here is how the rest of the summer is shaping up:

  • June 10-13: Lobbying in D.C.
  • rest of June: Trying to get a job, quickly, through a Seattle temp agency
  • July 9-13: KIDS Culture Camp
  • July 19-August 30: Korea!
  • August 30-September 6: Hawaii

After September 6th: Back to Seattle and trying to reinvent my life here yet again (new job search, new apartment hunt, etc.)

I will write a more detailed update here once I’m back from D.C. and finally get a chance to breathe. For now, I’m soooooooo relieved and happy to be done with school. 🙂

14 Comments

Filed under Politics, School Daze, Updates

14 responses to “Peace OUT

  1. Amy

    Congrats, girl. Your summer looks a lot more fun than mine.

  2. WOW. Congratulations, woman!!! So proud, on all counts! I can’t wait until Korea … and I can’t wait till you’re HERE! 🙂

  3. Kat

    CONGRATS!!!!!

  4. Congratulations beyond words…knowing to a tiny extent what you’ve gone through by means of talking on the phone, chatting, etc., I can only imagine how excited you must feel to be DONE. Have a great time in D.C.! See you in Seoul!

  5. you are SOOO awesome!! Congrats sis!! Yay!!!! YAY!!! Have a great summer!

  6. Congratulations, Sarah! I’m happy for you and glad to hear all the good news. Have a great time in D.C.

  7. Congratulations! You rock! Looks like you have some great things in store for the summer. I’m so excited for you!

  8. JR

    Woo Hoo!!!! Congratulations, Sarah. That’s awesome! I’m so amazed by all the great things you are doing. can’t wait to catch up this summer. Good luck in DC!

  9. Well, a congratulations is surely in order for you S!
    Doesn’t time just fly by? What a great opportunity to head out to DC and lobby… soak it all in.
    Cheers to you!!!

  10. gar

    congrats and have a great trip!

  11. Mee Hee Park

    congrats congrats congrats!

    I’m loving your graduation pic, by the by…peace out fo real!

  12. joe

    Sarah! Congratulations! No more school for you forever!!! Right?! I wish I could say the same, but I got one more gruesome year to go…and then I can be like you – free!

    Congrats again….

  13. darthfoofie

    Congratulations! Hope you have a great summer.

  14. Tae Yang

    WOOOUW thats so Awesome – you go girl 😀 Congratulations 1000x – I envy you sooooo much – you rock and you even make the dress look cool 😉

Leave a Reply

